Stars, Hexies, Triangles, Bubbles and More

My sweet friend saw me hand piecing hexies one day and had a quilters aha moment…you know, the “I can do this…it would be a great thing” moment.  She went to work lightening fast and before I knew it she had pieced 3 quilt tops!  Not easy ones either.  One is her own pattern, one is y seams and the other is a lot of little corners to match up! She did a beautiful job and allowed me the honor of quilting her first quilts…I remember my feelings of trepidation taking my first quilt to the LQS to be quilted. What if they lost it or ruined it or I hated the quilting???  Giving up control is some times a hard thing with personal creations! I love the quilting patterns she choose and want to share her quilts with you (with permission, of course!)

Here is the largest quilt…I love the gray background. This is a quilt that helped me change my mind about gray backgrounds.  I am typically a white and lots of it background girl.  She choose straight line quilting for this one.  A new quilting technique for me.  Sorry, I don’t know the name of this pattern to give its’ creator credit.  If you do, I would love to add a note!

family 348

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love how the straight line softly compliments the piecing. I didn’t channel lock it, instead I used a straight ruler to allow the lines to adjust slightly to the piecing.

straight line quilting

Here is the very first one she pieced – y seams on the machine – no less!  Not a beginner project for the faint of heart! I believe this quilt is done with Figtree fabrics – which I LOVE!  The colors are so beautifully blended.

family 341

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For me the colors make a cozy safe place sort of feeling.  Another first in quilting patterns – orange peel.  I did this one with a circle ruler.  I used my pantovision orange peel pattern for 2 rows and hated it, so I unpicked for quite awhile and redid it free hand with the ruler.

orange peel quilting

The third quilt she did without a pattern..Can you believe it?!  Brand new to piecing and quilting and she makes up her own pattern.  I love how it looks like woven candy. I love the fabric collection in this quilt too.  This quilting pattern was also a new pattern to me.  It is a Bubbles pattern that I believe I bought from Urban Elements as a digital pantograph for my Innova Pantovision.

family 336 family 337 family 339 family 340

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I hand delivered these beauties to my friend at her LQS. It was super fun to see her excitement and loving her quilts and sharing them with her LQS friends. Thank you, dear Mandy, for trusting me with your quilty babie

One thought on “Stars, Hexies, Triangles, Bubbles and More

Leave a Reply

