Updated 2/2016 Braided Corner Granny Square Afghan Tutorial

I have crocheted two projects in my life.  First one was watermelon pot holders when I was in Primary (the name for the children 3 -11 years old in my church).  I still have them today and use them. The second project I started about 2 years ago after I visited my elderly neighbor (she was 98 at the time) and saw her beautiful afghan on the back of her couch.  She taught me how to make the beautiful braided corner square.  My older sister crochets and this tutorial is for her…love ya, sis! I am using my neighbors instructions.  I am NOT an expert.  She said the regular instructions were really difficult to understand so she wrote her own.

Supplies: Get several HUGE skeins of black yarn –  light and variegated coordinating colors – Hook US 19 or 5.50 mm and some chocolate, of course!

Info for each step: To begin each dc group, ch 3 as the first one* .  Complete each round with a sl st

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Step 1: Chain 6 in black yarn

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

fasten with a slip stitch

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

to create a circle

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Row 1: Hold circle and chain 3

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Going inside the circle, crochet 2 dc

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

chain 10

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

go into last loop of last dc to make a slip stitch

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Go into circle and dc 3 times – repeat until you have 4 loops and 4 sets of 3 dc

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Make sure to slide your loops closer together on the circle to get a better “square” shape

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Row 2: light color yarn. * 3 dc in the space to the left of the ch 10, ch 1,  3 dc in the space at the right of the ch 10, chain 10 and fasten.  Repeat from * 3 more times around the square.

Attach your second color on the left side in the hole under the loop

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Chain 3

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

add 2 dc in the same hole

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

chain 1

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

crochet 3 dc in the second hole on the right of the second loop

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURE

chain 10

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

slip stitch to the last loop of the third dc

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

go through hole under black loop and do 3 dc on the left of the loop

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

repeat these steps around the black yarn

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

when you get back to the beginning of the yellow, slip stitch it together and cut yarn

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Row 3: variegated yarn: *3 dc in space next to ch 10, 3 dc in ch 1 space, 3 dc in space next to ch 10.  Repeat 3 more times from * around the square

slip stitch 3rd color on the left side of a yellow loop

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

chain 3

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

do 2 dc in the same hole

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

on this row you will do 3 dc in each hole (but NO chain stitch in between each 3 dc)

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

chain 10 and make loop same as in row 2

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

make loop as above and do 3 dc in each hole

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

repeat around yellow square and slip stitch off your variegated yarn to tie off and snip yarn (in the picture below

all the loops are on the back, it helps keep them out of the way when I am adding the new loop)

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

Row 4: Black yarn for the last 2 rows.  Dc in every st to the corner. 2 dc in space before chain 10, ch 3, 2 dc in space next to chain 10, repeat around. This black row should have 12 total stitches. 2 dc in each corner and 8 dc in between

1st black row – attach with a slip stitch and 3 chain stitches

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Next to the chain 3 do ONE dc

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Now do 8 dc in each outer loop of the variegated yarn

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Do 2 dc in the hole on the right side of the variegated loop

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

chain 3

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

go to the left side of the variegated loop and do 2 dc in the hole beneath (the loop is tucked back – so there are 2 dc on the right, 3 chains, and 2 dc on the left)

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

repeat around the variegated square

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

last corner – chain 3

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

slip stitch it to the top loop of the starting chain 3 (Don’t cut your yarn!)

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

remember my loops are all on the back

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Row 5: ch 2 , hdc in each dc, 2 dc in space before ch 10 loops, braid the ch 10 loops, tr into ch 10  loop and the black ch 3, ch 3, tr in same space, 2 dc in space next to chain 10. hdc in each of the dc. Repeat around square, each side should have 17 total stitches, 1 tr and 2 dc in each corner and 11 hdc between

Final black row – this time chain 2

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

do 11 hdc in each dc

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

now you are to the chain 3 of the first black row – do 2 dc and gently snug them to the right next to the hdc

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

FINALLY time to braid – YAY!  this is the fun part – pop all your loops through to the top of the square

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

gently put the middle loop through the center black loop

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

and pull it toward the outer loop

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

now put the outer loop (purple) thru the middle loop (yellow)

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

and pull it up – it is all braided – now we add the final loop

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

for this step your tr will go through the the hole created by the chain 3 AND the purple loop

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

tr in the hole – keep it to the right

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

chain 3

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

tr in the same hole

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

to the left of the loop do 2 dc and repeat 11 hdc and corners as above

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

when you finish the last row – simply slip stitch the final 2 dc to the beginning hdc

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

and you are done!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

braided corner afghan 005

up close – sorry, it is night time and the lighting isn’t that great in the preschool room.  Layout squares and whip stitch together.  There are several great tutorials for this on You Tube.

braided corner afghan 004

finished whip stitching the squares together – now I need to go back and learn the edge stitching.  Thankfully at 101, my sweet talented neighbor is still here to teach me!  So blessed with her friendship!

If you have any questions, let me know…I would love to help you learn to do this beautiful afghan.   Post pics when you are done!  Happy crocheting!

12 thoughts on “Updated 2/2016 Braided Corner Granny Square Afghan Tutorial

  1. Thanks Julie! I will definitely use this tutorial!!! I have thoroughly enjoyed all your posts lately. Even bought the Quilt it Mag! Love ya too!

  2. OK I fell in love with these. I shared your article on Facebook in a group with other crocheted!, Thank you for writing this up!!!

  3. Oh my. You had me until about the 3rd round. Is there a video to show this? I’m wondering if you could go back thru your photo tutorial and add whatever transition is missing. I don’t get what you do with the chain 10 loops as you are going aroujnd and then how they become braided at end. Really pretty and I’m so far in now I don’t want to give up. Please PM me at @lindaknightyarbrough on FB.

    • I will fix this when I get home…the chain 10 loops just stay loose until the last round and then you put the middle one through the bottom one and pull up, then the top one through the middle one and pull it up. Then the triple stitches go into the top loop to attach them all. Confusing I know. I will take better pics and post them.

  4. I don’t see anywhere in the instructions when you got to variagated round where it says to chain 10 loop. Also, my loops aren’t always in the corner (like the 1st color). I’m lost and can’t imagine anyone wouldn’t be.

    Really appreciate your beautiful work .. but please show us all the steps.

  5. My sister has requested me to make this for her. I have been crocheting for the last 36 years and even I am having problems following the instructions because of the missing steps. When I actually start crocheting this I believe I will be able to figure it out but with better instructions would make it a bit less stressful. Even though you were told the original instructions were difficult to understand, they might help me if I could get access to them.

    • She doesn’t have them anymore and can’t remember which friend gave them to her. I made another square with lots of pictures. I am trying to get it updated today. I have 3 sick children home today so I am not getting it done very quickly. I will also try to get a video done soon and post it on Youtube.

  6. I’m really grateful that you updated the instructions. I found them really easy to follow. Love it! So cool for someone who doesn’t crochet much! You inspire me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

